Nostalgia

Day 12: What do you miss? (a person, a thing, a place, a time of your life…)

Candid admission: when I saw this prompt, the first thing I thought was “sleep.” But that’s lame. Although I do miss sleeping, and waking up because my body says, “oh hey, wanna wake up now?” and I respond, “nahh, just a few more,” and the bod’s like, “cool, no prob, we’ll try again in 30.” Former self, why did you not appreciate this more??columbusoh

But for reals, I’mma have to go with a time in my life, which sort of coincides with a place: the beginning of 2012 through about June, in lovely Cbus, Ohio. This was fourth year of med school, so Paul was basically not doing much (I don’t think he’d argue me on this one) and though I was still working my not-favorite job at a bank, I could see the light at the end of the tunnel, i.e. QUITTING. That was a nice time. We got to hang out together, make dinners together, go for walks/running, etc. And I liked Columbus because I figured out how to get around there without getting lost most of the time, which is a big deal for me. A lot of its parks and trails were close by and the college-town vibe was more attractive when I wasn’t living so close to High Street and tons of students.

It’s super easy to idealize a time in your life. I have to remind myself how much I really disliked my job at the time to bring me back to reality. But it was still a happy combination of Paul not working very much and me working predictable hours, and a pretty nice city to explore. Columbus is where we began our life together and it will always hold a special place in my heart.

THEE END

Leave a Reply

