Letting Go

Day 30: React to this term: Letting Go.

There are plenty of things of which I need to let go. Among them:

Expectations.

It’s so easy to be disappointed when your expectations are in the wrong place. Not too high, mind you, because great expectations can be good, but sometimes I expect a lot. Being a parent has taught me this in a new way. My son is his own man! He can grow up to be whatever he wants… and sometimes I’m nervous. One day I’ll have to let him go be what he’s supposed to be, and I can see how that may be difficult. But it’s not for me to hold on to.

I also want to be THE BEST PARENT EVER. I want my son to see only the best examples of how to live, how to be a good human being. I’m going to fail at this. But if I obsess over how I will fail, I’m going to be too neurotic to do the best I can with what I have.

In a smaller way, I need to let go of the everyday things that pile up and obscure my view of the big picture. For example, today I wanted to do these random five things, and I didn’t get them done. Tomorrow I may have an unexpectedly productive day. When it comes to blogging, or writing in general, I may not always live up to my goals (as I pound this post out before I fall into bed). But it’s not the end of the world – it’s somehow never the end of the world.

May we be saved from our own unrealistic expectations.

One thought on “Letting Go

  1. “May we be saved from our own unrealistic expectations” May you be successful at this! I often put way too much pressure on myself when it came to parenting. A certain amount of expectations is good! It’s learning how to be kind to yourself when you know you’ve failed, or made a mistake! That was always the hard part for me!

Leave a Reply

