Advice

Day 8: A piece of advice you have for others. Anything at all.

As I’m thinking about this, I’m realizing how ill-equipped I feel to be giving advice about anything at all. At 24 years old, I’m not super experienced in many things. And I keep finding out (is it daily?) new things about which I’ve been wrong – sometimes for an embarrassingly long time. I’ll think there’s a right way to do something, then realize I was probably wrong, or at least that there are several ways of doing said thing. (Absolute rights and wrongs excluded here, obviously. It’s not like, hey, I thought rational discussion was the best form of conflict resolution, but now I feel slashing tires and burning houses down is actually better!)

So. With that disclaimer, I suppose one of the best things I can suggest is listening more. How much more, you ask? You mean more than talking, you ask? Just more! Whenever a situation presents itself like the above, when I realize something about which I’ve been mistaken or misled, the change of heart usually occurs because I stopped to listen to someone. It’s groundbreaking, I know. But I can confidently say that thus far in my life, there hasn’t been a time when I regretted listening more.

And there’s today’s post, in all its cheesy goodness.

Leave a Reply

