7 Quick Takes Vol. 7: Gratitude Edition

Seven Quick Takes

Now hosted at Kelly’s!

Thanksgiving is over and gone. It was last Thursday. But I’m going to be the lamest of lame and squeeze a post out of it. #sorrynotsorry

This is a “things I’m thankful for” quick takes, but it’s more of a “first world” kind of gratitude. I know there’s nothing that’s too small to be thankful for, but I’m going to skip the obvious big ones, the Thanksgiving-dinner-classics, the ones that, if skipped, cause people to think you’re a serious ingrate. So I’m not purposefully ignoring faith, family, home, job, etc., I’m just giving the heavy hitters a break and calling some little guys up from the minors.

1. Maternity pants during Thanksgiving

Extended panel, baby

Extended panel, baby

The first time I tried on a pair of maternity pants, my first thought was, “I need these for Thanksgiving.” This is the second TG holiday I’ve been able to wear maternity pants for a legitimate and obvious reason (pregnancy) but was secretly glad because they are SERIOUSLY forgiving in the overeating category. I considered them last Thanksgiving (when I was very much not pregnant) but chickened out. This year they were back. Three words, friends: elastic tummy panel.

2. Tissue boxes that randomly match your bathroom decor

Down to the exact hue.

3. Expectant mother parking at Giant Eagle

ReservedParkingforExpectantMothersR118RA5

It’s real. And it makes my cross-parking-lot-waddle much easier.

4. A good pen

how ancient do I sound when I say this?

How ancient do I sound when I say this?

You know what I’m talking about. I don’t do nearly as much writing by hand as I used to, which makes finding the right pen at the right time so much the sweeter.

5. Online shopping

What a gift for introverts. Especially during “the holidays.”

6. This thing:

download

Affectionately known around here as the “bloop-bloop.” I’m not sure I would get into my car without it. I’d probably still be fumbling around in a parking lot, dropping stuff and trying to restrain my kid by his coat with my teeth.

7. Cozy cozy bedding 

There’s nothing like crawling into your warm, cozy bed at the end of the day and snuggling down under a pile of wonderful blankets, especially now that it’s cold outside. When Paul and I were putting together our wedding registry, we went back and forth a bunch of times about adding a down comforter. It is totally unnecessary and expensive and what if we ended up with a down comforter and no utensils? But we went for it and a kind soul bought it (and we still got utensils) and it’s one of my favorite things. It’s. so. snuggly.

Cheers to the little things! Happy weekend!

 

4 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Vol. 7: Gratitude Edition

  1. This is so true. We forget about all the many little things we are accustomed to that are truly awesome gifts! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m not even pregnant, and I think extended panel pants would be great for Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc. No more bursted buttons!
    And #4; I’ve become quite protective of my very specific brand of gel pens because, I can’t be held responsible if I’m forced to use a ball point in this house!

Leave a Reply

