Answer Me This: Book-Sniffers Unite

Linking up with Kendra, because link-ups are my BFF 4-E AND ALWAYS.

Jumping right in…

1. Any big plans for the summer?

Unpacking. I know it’s going to take a long time, and I’m also overwhelmed at the thought of having a whole house to decorate. I know it’s all about giving it time, “quieting the space,” etc. etc. but sometimes I wish I could just snap my fingers and have it all decorated rightthissecond with all of our meaningful pieces and lots of beautiful art to fill in empty spaces. But I know it doesn’t work like that. And this unpacking business is serious. My approach usually fluctuates between going all out and not stopping for things like eating or bathroom breaks, and sitting on the couch with a bag of semisweet goodness and lots of internet, ignoring the wall of boxes replacing what should be a real wall. I’m sure this is due to my melancholic/phlegmatic-INFJ-introverted-acts of service-scorpio-rightbrained-procrastinator-redwineloving personality somehow. I dunno. Analyze me, internet.

2. What is the strangest thing you believed as a child?

Hmmm. We’ve all believed some weird stuff, I’m sure. Like the Tooth Fairy, for instance. But I think the promise of money in exchange for discarded body parts kept us hanging on for that one. (See what I mean about weird?)

I also believed there was a little dude who lived in a house on the top of my head who would talk to me…soooo there’s that.

I thought librarians were paid with book fine money. Which, thinking back, would probably have changed some of the ways they did their jobs. “Sure, I’ll renew that for you! How about an extra-long three-month rental special just for you?” *wink*

3. What’s your favorite amusement park ride? 

Well, I used to like roller coasters- just like, not love. I stayed with the safe wooden-type ones, and I don’t think I’ve ever been on a coaster that goes upside down. Then I got to the point where I couldn’t handle them anymore…when I was maybe 14? (14 going on 80, apparently). I also can’t remember the last time I was at an amusement park. I suppose this is a long-winded way of saying I don’t have one…though I could probably rock the merry-go-round.

4. What’s on your summer reading list?

Summer for me isn’t a whole lot different than any other season in terms of free time but I do have a list (somewhere – wall of boxes, remember?) from the beginning of the year with a bunch of books I want to read, mostly spiritual stuff. I started rereading Screwtape during Lent and would like to finish that one. I think some nonfiction would be nice for the warm months, and I’ll probably hit up Modern Mrs. Darcy for a good rec.

5. Have you ever fallen asleep in public?

This is an interesting question. I’m having a hard time thinking of a time I’ve fallen asleep in public… probably because it’s not something we typically do! It’s kind of a vulnerable position to be in. I fell asleep in the middle of a field with a few hundred thousand other people in Germany…at World Youth Day 2005. Does that count?

6. What is your favorite smell?

Springtime-just-rained smell tied with old book smell. (The older the book, the better the smell, generally.) Book-sniffers unite.

Happy Sunday! Keep on rockin’ the Ordinary Time.

2 thoughts on “Answer Me This: Book-Sniffers Unite

  1. Great post! This is kind of like a little “tell me about your childhood” reflection. Things like this will be priceless to your children. They will love reading this kind of stuff one day! Keep on writing! …..on another note…..made some serious progress Sunday! Getting there one empty box at a time!…Loved our time together yesterday!~~~Mom XO

  2. Another great one, Melly. I literally wanted to LOL, but I read this at work. Rock the merry-go-round and sleeping in public with a few hundred thousand people in Germany!!!! Ha! Ha! Love you! Mom!

Leave a Reply

